Flyback? Rdiff-backup!

I just ran into Flyback, which is presented as “Apple’s Time Machine for Linux”. To be precise, I read about it here on WordPress. Now, I’ve been using rdiff-backup for a while, so the first thing I thought was: what’s new about it?

Well, flyback is basically a GUI frontend for rsync, and rdiff-backup is a command-line utility based on librsync. Both programs are written with the same idea in mind. So: the new thing is the GUI. I guess that’s good, because setting up a backup system is daunting enough even with the help of a good GUI. On the other hand, we won’t interact with it daily (I hope) – so there’s no real need for it to look pretty. Both points seem valid to me. Edited: see comment below.

Nonetheless, I can see flyback overshadowing its command-line family with its good looks, so I’ll try and give rdiff-backup some blogging attention again soon (in fact there’s a special use of it that I want to run some tests with).

One good reason to prefer rdiff-backup over flyback? Here you go:

$ sudo aptitude install flyback
Reading package lists… Done
Building dependency tree… Done
Reading extended state information
Initializing package states… Done
Reading task descriptions… Done
Building tag database… Done
Couldn’t find any package whose name or description matched “flyback”

:)

1 Response to “Flyback? Rdiff-backup!”


  1. 1 yungchin 19 August 2008 at 8:27

    I just realised today that what I thought previously is just really ignorant.

    Rdiff-backup is based on the rsync-algorithm, but it doesn’t use rsync. It’s way of storing differentials is completely different from that of rsync-using scripts: it only stores the block-level differences between file revisions, where rsync scripts store a new file everytime you change a file.

    As for rdiff-backup GUIs then, perhaps I should look at rdiff-backup-web or rdiffweb at some point.


Comments are currently closed.




